York has festivals, cutural events and spectacles throughout the year. See the sample list below to whet your appetite

 

 

 

January


10: York Book Fair. York Racecourse www.yorkbookfair.com
30 until 3 May: Churchill's Final Journey National Railway Museum www.nrm.org.uk

February


14 - 22: JORVIK Viking Festival www.jorvik-viking-festival.co.uk
14 - 22: Teddy Bear Week North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
14-22: Fun with Paddington Bear National Railway Museum www.nrm.org.uk

 

March


19-29: York Literature Festival Venues across the city www.yorkliteraturefestival.co.uk

 

April


3-6: York's Chocolate Festival various locations www.yorkchocolatefestival.co.uk
4-6: Easter Fair and Farm Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk
4-6:
York Model Railway ShowYork Racecourse www.yorkshow.org.uk
11:
Rolling Thunder - propeller aircraft start up Yorkshire Air Museum www.yorkshireairmuseum.org
17,18,19,25,26:
York Open Studios Local artists in informal settings www.yorkopenstudios.co.uk
17-19 & 24-26: Spring Steam Gala North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
25-26: Festival of Vintage York Racecourse www.festivalofvintage.co.uk

 

May


1-3: Tour de Yorkshire various locations www.letour.yorkshire.com/tour-de-yorkshire
9-10: Battlegroup North Yorkshire Air Museum War-gaming, military vehicle and living history show www.yorkshireairmuseum.org
9-16:York International Shakespeare Festival various locations
23-31: Wizard of Oz Tracker Jack Trail North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk


June


6-7: York Food and Drink Festival various locations www.yorkfoodfestival.com
9-21:
York Festival of Ideas Range of events at venues across the city www.yorkfestivalofideas.com
13-14: Swinging Sixties North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
25-29: Flower Festival Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk
26 until 11 July: In Fog and Falling Snow York Theatre Royal Production at the National Railway Museum www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk


July


3 - 11: York Early Music Festival National Centre for Early Music www.ncem.co.uk/yemf
11 - 12: Classic Cars and Vehicles North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
17: Robin Hood Outdoor Theatre Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk
11 July - 6 September: York Maze, Elvington Fun for all the family www.yorkmaze.co.uk
24 July - 2 Aug Great Yorkshire Fringe Comedy and family entertainment. Venues across the city www.greatyorkshirefringe.com
31 July - 5 Sept The Railway Children Theatre Royal Production at the National Railway Museum www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk


August


19 - 31: Yorkshire Medieval Festival www.yorkshire-medieval-festival.co.uk
22: Castle Howard Proms Spectacular www.castlehoward.co.uk
27: Robin Hood Outdoor Theatre Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk
31: Rolling Thunder - propeller aircraft start up Yorkshire Air Museum www.yorkshireairmuseum.org


September


6: Allied Air Forces Memorial Day Yorkshire Air Museum www.yorkshireairmuseum.org
18 - 27: York Food and Drink Festival Various locations www.yorkfoodfestival.com
18 - 19: York Book Fair One of the largest fairs in the UK York Racecourse www.pbfa.org
25 - 27: Autumn Steam Gala North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk


October


11:
Plusnet Yorkshire Marathon www.theyorkshiremarathon.com
13 -18: Autumn Festival Nunington Hall www.nationaltrust.org.uk/nunington-hall
16 - 18: Railway in Wartime North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
21 Oct - 4 Jan: Christmas Adventure Stockeld Park near Weatherby www.stockeldpark.co.uk
24 October - 1 November: Witches and Wizards Tracker Jack Trail North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
28 - 31 : Illuminating York www.illuminatingyork.org


November & December


Dates TBC: Weedend Santa Specials North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
5 - 8 November: Aesthetica Short Film Festival Various locations www.asff.co.uk
7 November- 13 December: Winter weekends Nunnington Hall www.nationaltrust.org.uk/nunnington-hall
21 November - 20 December: Christmas at Castle Howard 01653 648333 www.castlehoward.co.uk
26 Nov - 20 Dec: St Nicholas Festival
5 - 13 December: Early Music Chrlstmas Festival www.ncem.co.uk