York has festivals, cutural events and spectacles throughout the year. See the sample list below to whet your appetite

 

 

 

January


9: York Book Fair. York Racecourse www.yorkbookfair.com

February


TBC:The Inaugural Run – The Flying Scotsman National Railway Museum www.nrm.org.uk
Feb - 19 June: Starring Scotsman National Railway Museum www.nrm.org.uk
13 - 21: Bulb Planting (closed Monday) Beningbrough Hall Tel: 01904 472027 nationaltrust.org.uk
17 - 20: Vespertine York St Mary’s vespertineyork.com
13 - 21: February Fun Half Term Stockeld Park Tel: 01937 586333 stockeldpark.co.uk
15 - 21: JORVIK Viking Festival Tel: 01904 615505 jorvik-viking-festival.co.uk
27 Feb - 30 Oct: Happy Birthday Beningbrough Beningbrough Hall Tel: 01904 472027 nationaltrust.org.uk

March


10-23: York Literature Festival Venues across the city www.yorkliteraturefestival.co.uk
12 - 20: Flying Scotsman visits the North York Moors Railway Tel: 01751 472508 nymr.co.uk
25 March – 8 May Stunts, Speed and Style and Service with Style - The Flying Scotsman National Railway Museum Tel: 0844 8153139 nrm.org.uk
25-28: York Easter Festival Tel: 01904 550099 visityork.org
26 - 28: York Model Railway Show York Racecourse. 10am – 4.30pm Tel: 01653 694319 yorkshow.org.uk
26 - 28: Easter Family Fun including giant egg hunt Castle Howard Tel: 01653 648333 castlehoward.co.uk
23 March - 17 April: Easter Adventure Stockeld Park Tel: 01937 586333 stockeldpark.co.uk

April


3-6: York's Chocolate Festival various locations www.yorkchocolatefestival.co.uk
4-6: Easter Fair and Farm Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk
4-6:
York Model Railway ShowYork Racecourse www.yorkshow.org.uk
11:
Rolling Thunder - propeller aircraft start up Yorkshire Air Museum www.yorkshireairmuseum.org
17,18,19,25,26:
York Open Studios Local artists in informal settings www.yorkopenstudios.co.uk
17-19 & 24-26: Spring Steam Gala North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
25-26: Festival of Vintage York Racecourse www.festivalofvintage.co.uk

May


6 - 8 & 13 - 15:
Late Spring Steam Gala North Yorkshire Moors Railway Tel: 01751 472508 nymr.co.uk
28 May – 5 June: Spring Adventure Stockeld Park, near Wetherby Tel: 01937 586101 stockeldpark.co.uk
26 May - 30 June: York Mystery Plays at York Minster Tel: 01904 623568 yorkminster.org/ mysteryplays2016

June


2 - 5: Eboracum Roman Festival
11-12: York Food and Drink Festival various locations www.yorkfoodfestival.com
7-19:
York Festival of Ideas Range of events at venues across the city www.yorkfestivalofideas.com
23-26: Flower Festival Castle Howard www.castlehoward.co.uk

July


2-3: Swinging Sixties North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
8-16: York Early Music Festival National Centre for Early Music www.ncem.co.uk/yemf
9-10:
Classic Cars and Vehicles North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
23 July - 5 September: Summer Adventure Stockeld Park stockeldpark.co.uk
16 July - 5 September: York Maze, Elvington Fun for all the family www.yorkmaze.co.uk
15-31 Great Yorkshire Fringe Comedy and family entertainment. Venues across the city www.greatyorkshirefringe.com
30 - 31: York Antiques Fine and Decorative Art Fair York Racecourse Tel: 07929015498 roseantiquesfairs.co.uk
30-31: Show in the Park York Racecourse showinthepark.com

August


1 - 31: Yorkshire Medieval Festival www.yorkshire-medieval-festival.co.uk
7: Thunder Day- propeller aircraft start up Yorkshire Air Museum www.yorkshireairmuseum.org

September


4: Allied Air Forces Memorial Day Yorkshire Air Museum www.yorkshireairmuseum.org
8-11: World Ploughing Championship Crockey Hill near York Tel: 01302 852469 ploughmen.co.uk
16-17: York Book Fair One of the largest fairs in the UK York Racecourse www.pbfa.org
23 Sept - 2 Oct: York Food and Drink Festival Various locations www.yorkfoodfestival.com

October


1 - 2: Autumn Steam Gala North Yorkshire Moors Railway Tel: 01751 472508 www.nymr.co.uk
14-16
: Railway in Wartime North Yorkshire Moors Railway www.nymr.co.uk
22-30: Half Term Halloween Fun Castle Howard Tel: 01653 648333 castlehoward.co.uk
19-22 : Illuminating York www.illuminatingyork.org

November


3 - 6: Aesthetica Short Film Festival Venues across the city Tel: 01904 629137 asff.co.uk
4 : Remembrance Sunday Yorkshire Air Museum Tel: 01904 608595 yorkshireairmuseum.org
17 November - 23 December: St Nicholas Fair Tel: 01904 550099 visityork.org/events
19 November - 23 December: Christmas at Castle Howard Castle Howard Tel: 01653 648333 castlehoward.co.uk

December


3&4, 10&11, 17&18, 20&21: Santa Specials North Yorkshire Moors Railway Tel: 01751 472508 nymr.co.uk
9 – 17 : Early Music Christmas Festival Tel: 01904 658338 ncem.co.uk